October 1, 2020

ASHA is proud to present the recipients of the association’s 2020 awards. Those honored have made significant contributions to communication sciences and disorders, drawing accolades from their colleagues, students, and clients.

Honors of the Association

Giselle Denya Carnaby, University of Central Florida

Celeste A. Roseberry-McKibbin, California State University, Sacramento

Froma P. Roth, American Speech-Language-Hearing Association

Dennis M. Ruscello, West Virginia University

Andrew Stuart, East Carolina University

Pamela Hubbard Wiley, Los Angeles Speech and Language Therapy Center

Christine Yoshinaga-Itano, University of Colorado Boulder

Fellowship of the Association

Areej A. Aseeri, Ministry of Culture, Riyadh

Christopher Dromey, Brigham Young University

Carol C. Dudding, James Madison University

Tucker Gleason, University of Virginia

Donald M. Goldberg, College of Wooster

Maria I. Grigos, New York University

Marta S. Kazandjian, Silvercrest Center for Nursing and Rehabilitation, Adelphi University

Carol Lynn Koch, Samford University

Erika S. Levy, Teachers College, Columbia University

Nancy R. Lovering, Speech Language Therapy Services, LLC

Nicole L. Marrone, University of Arizona

Ryan William McCreery, Boys Town National Research Hospital

Jean Neils-Strunjas, University of South Carolina

Nicole Patton Terry, Florida State University

Sonja L. Pruitt-Lord, San Diego State University

Deborah Ross Swain, The Swain Center for Listening, Communicating, and Learning

Pamela A. Smith, Bloomsburg University of Pennsylvania

Laurie E. Sterling, Texas Children’s Hospital

Janet M. Sturm, Central Michigan University

Stacy L. Williams, Simucase

Certificate of Recognition for Outstanding Contributions in International Achievement

Ilias Papathanasiou, University of Patras

Certificate of Recognition for Special Contributions in Multicultural Affairs

Richard K. Adler, Minnesota State University Moorhead (Retired)

Certificate of Recognition for Special Contributions in Higher Education

Wendy M. Krueger, Marquette University

Certificate of Recognition for Special Contributions in Preschool-Grade 12 Education Settings

Kamela Misti Rowland, Little Rock Southwest High School

Distinguished Service Award

Walter A. Wolfram, North Carolina State University

Early Career Contributions in Research Award

Sayako Earle, University of Delaware

Maryam Naghibolhosseini, Michigan State University

Ashwini M. Namasivayam-MacDonald, McMaster University

American Speech-Language-Hearing Foundation

Frank R. Kleffner Lifetime Clinical Career Award

Carol Westby, Bilingual Multicultural Services

Louis M. DiCarlo Award for Recent Clinical Achievement

Susan Ostrowski, Reading2Connect

Rolland J. Van Hattum Award for Contribution in the Schools

Maureen Staskowski, Macomb Intermediate School District

National Student Speech Language Hearing Association

Chapter of the Year

California State University, Sacramento

Chapter Advisor Honors—Continued Commitment

Mitzi Ritzman, University of Nebraska, Omaha

Chapter Advisor Honors—Making Waves

Jenna Silver Luque, University of South Florida, Sarasota-Manatee


Kawana Award for Lifetime Achievement in Publications

Judy R. Dubno, Medical University of South Carolina

Editor’s Awards

American Journal of Audiology (Editor-in-Chief: Sumitrajit Dhar)

Age at Full-Time Use Predicts Language Outcomes Better Than Age of Surgery in Children Who Use Cochlear Implants

Lisa R. Park, Erika B. Gagnon, Erin Thompson, Kevin D. Brown

American Journal of Speech Language Pathology (Editor-in-Chief: Julie Barkmeier-Kraemer

Relationships Between Radiation Exposure Dose, Time, and Projection in Videofluoroscopic Swallowing Studies

Heather Shaw Bonilha, Janina Wilmskoetter, Sameer Tipnis, Janet Horn, Bonnie Martin-Harris, Walter Huda

Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research, Speech Section (Editor-in-Chief: Bharath Chandrasekaran)

Reference Values for Healthy Swallowing Across the Range From Thin to Extremely Thick Liquids

Catriona M. Steele, Melanie Peladeau-Pigeon, Carly A. E. Barbon, Brittany T. Guida, Ashwini M. Namasivayam-MacDonald, Weslania V. Nascimento, Sana Smaoui, Melanie S. Tapson, Teresa J. Valenzano, Ashley A. Waito, Talia S. Wolkin

Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research, Language Section (Editor-in-Chief: Sean Redmond)

Specific Language Impairment in African American English and Southern White English: Measures of Tense and Agreement with Dialect-Informed Probes and Strategic Scoring

Janna B. Oetting, Jessica R. Berry, Kyomi D. Gregory, Andrew M. Rivière, Janet McDonald

Journal of Speech, Language, and Hearing Research, Hearing Section (Editor-in-Chief: Frederick Gallun)

Listening Effort by Native and Nonnative Listeners Due to Noise, Reverberation, and Talker Foreign Accent During English Speech Perception

Ellen Peng, Lily M. Wang

Language, Speech, and Hearing Services in Schools (Editor-in-Chief: Holly Storkel)

Speech-Language Pathology and the Youth Offender: Epidemiological Overview and Roadmap for Future Speech-Language Pathology Research and Scope of Practice

Pamela C. Snow

Perspectives of the ASHA Special Interest Groups (Categorized by Editor-in-Chief)

EIC Brenda Beverly

Improving Patient Safety and Patient–Provider Communication

Richard R. Hurtig, Rebecca M. Alper, Karen N. T. Bryant, Krista R. Davidson, Chelsea Bilskemper

EIC Angela Ciccia

Does Neuromuscular Electrical Stimulation Benefit Patients With Head and Neck Cancer Treated With Radiation Therapy?

Susan E. Langmore

EIC Barbara Cone

Knowledge Is Power: Improving Outcomes for Patients, Partners, and Professionals in the Digital Age

Melanie Ferguson, David Maidment, Helen Henshaw, Rachel Gomez

EIC Patrick Finn

Ethical Considerations for Client-Centered Telepractice

Ellen R. Cohn, Jana Cason

Media Awards

Print Media

USA Today

Skilled Nursing News

The Atlantic

Digital Media

U.S. News & World Report



Broadcast Media

Doctor Radio, Sirius XM

ABC-TV’s Good Morning America

FOX 5-TV, Washington, D.C.

WCBS-TV, New York City

Member Media Outreach Champions

Marissa Barrera

Kimberly Creel

Phallon Doss

Luis F. Riquelme

Susan Yaffe-Oziel

Additional Resources


Current downloads: 472