NBASLH 2010 Annual Convention 200 Professionals, Students Travel to Tampa for Advocacy, Education, and Mentoring ASHA News
ASHA News  |   June 01, 2010
NBASLH 2010 Annual Convention
Author Notes
  • Karen Beverly-Ducker, MA, CCC-A, director of multicultural resources, can be reached at
    Karen Beverly-Ducker, MA, CCC-A, director of multicultural resources, can be reached at×
Article Information
Professional Issues & Training / Regulatory, Legislative & Advocacy / ASHA News
ASHA News   |   June 01, 2010
NBASLH 2010 Annual Convention
The ASHA Leader, June 2010, Vol. 15, 27. doi:10.1044/leader.AN2.15072010.27
The ASHA Leader, June 2010, Vol. 15, 27. doi:10.1044/leader.AN2.15072010.27
  • Graphic Jump LocationImage Not Available

  • Silvia Martinez (left), the National Student Speech Language Hearing Association’s consultant for multi-cultural issues, congratulates Tamika Reynold LeRay, recipient of the 2010 NBASLH/Person Student Research Award.
“Empowering You Through Advocacy, Education, and Mentoring” was the theme of the 32nd annual convention of the National Black Association for Speech-Language and Hearing (NBASLH) in Tampa, Fla.
Over the course of the four-day convention in April, more than 200 seasoned and aspiring professionals attended short courses; mini-seminars; technical and educational sessions, including highlighted presentations by Alejandro Brice, David Hutchings, and Mary Ann Lowe; and sessions sponsored by the NBASLH Neurogenic Special Interest Group, which featured presenters Ianessa Humbert, Mary Spremulli, and YorickWijting.
Melissa Edridge, president-elect of the Florida Association of Speech-Language Pathologists and Audiologists, welcomed attendees during the opening session, which featured SLP and motivational speaker Dawnyale Foster. Foster’s thoughtful and entertaining presentation encouraged audience members to reinvent themselves into a “new frame of mind” and to tailor their careers as an SLP or audiologist.
The opening session also included the annual passing of the torch. The torch was symbolically lit during the 2008 NBASLH convention by notables in the field, and then given to a student specifically encouraged and tasked to “continue on.” Each recipient then passes the torch to another student during subsequent NBASLH conventions.
The awards ceremony paid tribute to award recipients and honor scholarship winners. This year’s Scholar-Mentor Award recipient is Iris Johnson Arnold, associate professor and coordinator of graduate studies in the Department of Speech Pathology and Audiology at Tennessee State University, in recognition of her “outstanding mentoring skills with students through various research, clinical, administrative, and/or academic activities.”
Tommie Robinson Jr., ASHA president, provided inspirational words on leadership at the awards ceremony. “The ultimate leader will help others to surpass him/her in knowledge and ability,” he said, offering suggestions (“Look for leadership opportunities in various activities”) and concluding with mistakes to avoid (“Never fail to learn and to listen”).
At the Student Research Forum, undergraduate and graduate students were encouraged to share their research and clinical interests in poster sessions. They also had the opportunity to network, discuss concerns, and gain “just-in-time” information (NBASLH-speak for useful information that fills an immediate need: how to interview for a job or how to secure a clinical fellowship, for example) from leaders throughout the discipline. The forums are two of the many ways in which NBASLH strives to support and encourage future colleagues; students also serve in a variety of volunteer leadership roles.
At the annual Student-Mentor Luncheon, the 2010 NBASLH/Pearson Student Research Award recipient, Tamika ReynoldLeRay, shared her research. LeRay, a Minority Student Leadership Program participant enrolled at Emerson College, presented “African American English and Speech-Language Pathology.” The luncheon was sponsored by ASHA and the National Student Speech Language Hearing Association,
Other awardees included Tennessee State University students Ashley Walker and Megan Hudson (The Staffing Options and Solutions Student Scholarship Award) and Howard University student Keisha Lynn Matthews (Progressus Therapy Award). Four students—NwakaegoIwenofu (Hampton University), Kandace Dyson (Arkansas State University), and Amber Manning and Jennifer Parker (Tennessee State University)—each received an NBASLH Travel Award.
More than 30 aspiring clinicians attended a concurrent three-day intensive review course for the Praxis examination, with several faculty members joining via teleconferencing.
The educational sessions were complemented by a formal business meeting, at which participants shared past successes and accomplishments and learned of future plans.
As the convention closed, NBASLH officers Arnell Brady, chair; Rachel Williams, convention chair; and the entire Executive Board began planning for “NBASLH at Home in the World,” the 2011 Convention scheduled for April 6–9 in Indianapolis.
Submit a Comment
Submit A Comment
Comment Title

This feature is available to Subscribers Only
Sign In or Create an Account ×
June 2010
Volume 15, Issue 7