C-Changes in Audiology Audiology Certification Changes; Praxis Scoring Revisions Are Deferred ASHA News
ASHA News  |   March 01, 2012
C-Changes in Audiology
Author Notes
  • Ayana Nickerson, director of certification, can be reached at anickerson@asha.org.
    Ayana Nickerson, director of certification, can be reached at anickerson@asha.org.×
Article Information
Hearing Disorders / ASHA News
ASHA News   |   March 01, 2012
C-Changes in Audiology
The ASHA Leader, March 2012, Vol. 17, 5-6. doi:10.1044/leader.AN6.17032012.5
The ASHA Leader, March 2012, Vol. 17, 5-6. doi:10.1044/leader.AN6.17032012.5
Significant changes in audiology certification standards take effect this year, with broad implications for ASHA members: To become ASHA-certified, audiologists now must hold a doctoral degree. Changes to audiology Praxis exam scoring also were scheduled to take effect Jan. 1; following discussions with ASHA, however, the Educational Testing Service (ETS) has postponed enactment of the new scale to give state licensure boards time to put it in place.
2012 Certification Standards
ASHA’s 2012 audiology standards remain largely unchanged from previous years, with one noteworthy difference: From Jan. 1 onward, anyone applying for initial certification or reinstatement of certification must hold a doctoral degree. Most accredited clinical doctoral programs in audiology offer the doctor of audiology (AuD) degree. But the new requirements for an earned doctoral degree also allow for other types (PhD, EdD, or ScD), provided an audiologist meets all mandated knowledge and skill requirements.
The new audiology standards result from a Practice and Curriculum Analysis of the Profession of Audiology, conducted in 2007 under the auspices of the Council for Clinical Certification (CFCC) and the Council on Academic Accreditation in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology (CAA). More than 8,500 audiology professionals from a wide variety of practice settings received a survey. Information from respondents allowed the CFCC and CAA to validate and update curriculum expectations and certification requirements.
In reviewing the data, the CFCC determined that the Standards for Clinical Certification and Praxis examination scoring needed revision to bring them in line with survey results. Proposed standards were distributed for peer review in 2008, and all comments were considered in the final version of the document. The CFCC approved the 2012 Audiology Standards in July 2009, and set an implementation date of Jan. 1, 2012.
Individuals who already hold a CCC-A do not have to earn a doctoral degree to maintain their certification. Only applicants for initial certification—or those who were certified but allowed their certification to lapse and are reinstating it after Dec. 31, 2011—are required to hold a doctoral degree. Current ASHA members who meet their certification maintenance requirements every three years are not required to obtain a doctoral degree.
As required under earlier standards, all graduate-level academic coursework and clinical practica for ASHA certification must be initiated and completed in a CAA-accredited program. Applicants must submit either an official transcript showing the date the degree was awarded, or a letter from the registrar indicating that degree requirements have been completed, the degree designation, and the date the degree was—or will be—awarded.
Delayed Shift in Praxis Scoring
The Praxis series examination in audiology—administered by ETS—is the assessment used for ASHA certification. The exam is scored on a scale of 250–990. In 2011, ETS announced a new scoring scale of 100–200 that aligns the audiology Praxis test with other Praxis scoring scales. In November, however, ETS deferred the change until January 2013, in response to timing concerns voiced by ASHA and many state licensure boards.
Because some states’ licensure regulations explicitly mandate a passing score of 600 for the audiology Praxis exam, immediately enacting the change would create numerous difficulties. The licensure boards need more time to accommodate a new passing score based on the new scale in their regulations and statutes.
In response to these concerns, ETS announced in November that the current scoring scale will remain in use until 2013.
Submit a Comment
Submit A Comment
Comment Title

This feature is available to Subscribers Only
Sign In or Create an Account ×
March 2012
Volume 17, Issue 3