IDEA ’04 Proposed Rules Expected in May, Public Meetings Announced ASHA has learned from the U.S. Department of Education (ED) that the proposed regulations on Part B of IDEA 2004 are in final departmental clearance and are expected to be forwarded to the Office of Management and Budget for review and approval, a necessary step prior to the announcement of ... Policy Analysis
Free
Policy Analysis  |   May 01, 2005
IDEA ’04 Proposed Rules Expected in May, Public Meetings Announced
Author Notes
  • Catherine D. Clarke, ASHA’s director of education and regulatory advocacy, can be reached at cclarke@asha.org
    Catherine D. Clarke, ASHA’s director of education and regulatory advocacy, can be reached at cclarke@asha.org×
Article Information
Regulatory, Legislative & Advocacy / Policy Analysis
Policy Analysis   |   May 01, 2005
IDEA ’04 Proposed Rules Expected in May, Public Meetings Announced
The ASHA Leader, May 2005, Vol. 10, 1-23. doi:10.1044/leader.PA2.10062005.1
The ASHA Leader, May 2005, Vol. 10, 1-23. doi:10.1044/leader.PA2.10062005.1
ASHA has learned from the U.S. Department of Education (ED) that the proposed regulations on Part B of IDEA 2004 are in final departmental clearance and are expected to be forwarded to the Office of Management and Budget for review and approval, a necessary step prior to the announcement of rules and regulations in the Federal Register. ED now anticipates that the IDEA Part B notice of proposed rulemaking (NPRM) will be issued in early May.
ED has also announced a schedule for a series of public meetings across the country to seek comments and suggestions on the upcoming proposed regulations to implement programs under the recently amended IDEA. The public meetings will be held from 1–4 p.m. and from 5–7 p.m. at the following sites:
  • June 6 in San Antonio, TX

  • June 17 in Nashville, TN

  • June 22 in Sacramento, CA

  • June 24 in Las Vegas, NV

  • June 27 in New York, NY

  • June 29 in Chicago, IL

  • July 12 in Washington, DC

The schedule appeared in the April 1 Federal Register. Details on specific locations will be provided in the NPRM to be published this spring.
ASHA will again be developing talking points to the proposed regulations to help members in preparing their comments to present at these meetings. For more information, contact Catherine D. Clarke, ASHA’s director of education and regulatory advocacy, by e-mail at cclarke@asha.org or by phone at 800-498-2071, ext. 4159.
IDEA Webcast

The U.S. Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS) will present a national Webcast to provide an update on the development of implementing regulations for IDEA 2004. During the Webcast, Troy R. Justesen, acting deputy assistant secretary for OSERS, will outline the next steps in the regulatory process as well as opportunities for the public to provide comment. Justesen will also address key issues raised during the comment period to shed light on some key changes introduced in this latest reauthorization of IDEA as well as what those changes may mean for students, parents, and schools. The Webcast will be held on Wednesday, May 18, from 3 p.m. Eastern; 2 p.m. Central; 1 p.m. Mountain; 12 p.m. Pacific; 11 a.m. Alaska; and 9 a.m. Hawaii.

Link to this Webcast and download accompanying materials and instructions.

0 Comments
Submit a Comment
Submit A Comment
Name
Comment Title
Comment


This feature is available to Subscribers Only
Sign In or Create an Account ×
FROM THIS ISSUE
May 2005
Volume 10, Issue 6